1 December 2017


New Zealand’s top sports journalists and photographers were recognised at the 2017 Sport New Zealand Sir Terry McLean National Sports Journalism Awards dinner in Auckland last night.

Former Sunday Star Times and now NZME/NZ Herald journalist Liam Napier claimed the category award for Sports News Reporting and was then announced as CBL Insurance Supreme Sports Journalist of the Year. His portfolio of stories was labelled by the judges as demonstrating “fearless reporting, tight execution and, importantly, the right dash of context and sensitivity.”

The other finalists were former Newshub/TV3 reporter Michelle Pickles and veteran radio commentator Peter Montgomery.  Abby Wilson of TVNZ was awarded the trophy for the Best single story of the year, for her piece on drug testing in First XV rugby.

The NZ Herald DJ Cameron Young Journalist Award was won by Ruth Dacey of the Rotorua Daily Post. The new multi-media reporting category, went to Martin Tasker and Peter Lester for their coverage of the America’s Cup.

Michelle Pickles took out the Award for Best Television reporting, while Matt Beale of Sky Sport won the Best Television Feature category. Peter Montgomery won the Sports Broadcasting Radio award for his America’s Cup coverage on Radio Sport.

The Sport New Zealand Lifetime Contribution to Sport through Journalism Award was awarded to veteran Wellington based radio broadcaster, cricket commentator Bryan Waddle.

In the photography section, the best portfolio category was won by Napier photographer John Cowpland of Alphapix, the best community/adventure category by Motueka based Chris Symes of Media Images and the best photograph - of two young boys helping up a friend who had fallen in a school cross-country race - was captured by Robyn Edie of the Southland Times.

The Sir John Wells Sport New Zealand Journalism Scholarships were awarded this year to Alex Chapman of the NZ Herald and Kirstie Stanway of Newshub. The scholarshjp provides two young journalists the opportunity to spend time in Wellington and Auckland with key sports leaders and organisations to gain a wider understanding of sports governance in New Zealand.

Logan Savory of the Southland Times was selected as the Best Provincial Sports Journalist, while the Garry Frew Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to Provincial Sports Journalism was given to Rangiora based Lindsay Kerr. Journalist Suzanne McFadden and veteran Herald journalist David Leggat were made Life Members of the Association.

These were the 37th NZSJA awards, the 23rd under the patronage of Sport New Zealand, and the 17th year they have been known as the Sir Terry McLean National Sports Journalism Awards. The Awards, sponsored by Sport New Zealand, attracted 136 entries across all New Zealand media organisations.

The winners of the 2017 Sir Terry McLean National Sports Journalism Awards:

Award for Sports News Reporting – Print and online
Liam Napier - formerly Sunday Star Times, now NZME

Award for Sports Broadcasting – Radio
Peter Montgomery NewstalkZB/Radio Sport

Sileni Estates Award for Sports Reporting – Television
Michelle Pickles TV3 Newshub

Barfoot & Thompson Award for Multi-media Sports Reporting
Martin Tasker and Peter Lester - Freelance

Award for Sports Feature Television
Matt Beale SkySport

Award for Sports Feature Writing:
Mark Reason Fairfax Media

Wilson Award for Sports Column/Opinion – all media
Dylan Cleaver NZME/NZ Herald

Z Energy Award for Best Community sport/Recreational/Adventure reporting
Dylan Cleaver NZME/NZ Herald

New Zealand Herald DJ Cameron Young Journalist Award
Ruth Dacey Rotorua Daily Post

CBL Insurance Award for Best Provincial/Community Journalist
Logan Savory Southland Times

Award for Sports Photography – Portfolio
John Cowpland Alphapix

Z Energy Award for Community Sports/Recreational/Adventure Photography – Portfolio
Chris Symes Media Images

NZSJA Award for Best Single Story
Abby Wilson TVNZ

NZSJA Award for Best Single Photograph
Robyn Edie Southland Times

Sir John Wells Sport New Zealand Journalism Scholarships.
Kirstie Stanway Newshub, Alex Chapman NZ Herald

CBL Insurance Supreme Sports Journalist of the Year
Liam Napier NZME

  • Sport New Zealand
  • CBL Insurance
  • NZ Herald
  • Z Energy
  • Barfoot & Thompson
  • Sileni Estates
  • NZ Olympic Association
  • AIPS